Philippines Election 2013 Results and Winners, Top 12 Senators

election_proclamation-6-senatorsManila, Philippines – Commission on Elections (COMELEC) has proclaimed the six leading senatorial bets on Thursday.

The Top 6 senatorial candidates including Grace Poe, Loren Legarda, Alan Peter Cayetano, Francis Escudero, Nancy Binay and Sonny Angara has been formally proclaimed as Senators on Thursday, May 16, 2013 after leading the senatorial race of May 13 Philippine election.

Nancy Binay of the United Nationalist Alliance, who placed fifth, skipped the proclamation of the Commission on Elections for unknown reason. According to COMELEC Chairman Sixto Brillantes, Binay only “sent word she wouldn’t be arriving.”

The proclamation of remaining six winning candidates is expected to be completed by Friday. Occupying the half of the magic 12 are Benigno Aquino IV, Aquilino Pimentel III, Antonio Trillanes IV, JV Ejercito Estrada, Cynthia Villar and Gringo Honasan.

Richard Gordon, Juan Miguel Zubiri and Jack Enrile are close and on for the snatch since 23% of the election returns or 11M votes has not been counted yet.

Newly Elected 12 Senators of the Philippines 

Here is the partial and unofficial tally of the Philippine Senatorial Election as of 2013-05-17 representing 76% of the Nationwide Election Returns.

For more news and updates, like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, add us to your circle in Google+ and we will keep you posted directly on your news feeds. Photo: ABS-CBN News

What do you think?